Sports UpdateSummer 2010

Sports Update

Class of 2010 Hall of Famers named

The Department of Athletics and the Greyhound Club honored five individuals and two teams being inducted into the 2010 UIndy Athletics Hall of
Fame at the Feb. 6 banquet ceremony following a basketball doubleheader against Drury University.

Herman BuenoHerman Bueno ’80 was a four-time letterwinner in both cross country and track and field. Bueno earned MVP honors all four years in cross country. He also earned HCC Cross Country Outstanding Runner in 1978 and ’79 and All-Conference 1976–80. In ’79, Bueno was a GLV C and Little State Champion and an NCAA Division II National Qualifier in ’78 and ’79. In track and field, Bueno earned HCC All-Conference all four years and was HCC Most Valuable Runner in 1980. He was a Track Little State Steeplechase champion and Division II National Qualifier in ’77 and ’78. After UIndy, Bueno began coaching cross country and track and field at Southport Middle School. He was inducted into the Southport High School Wall of Fame in ’04 and also was honored as UIndy’s Greyhound Club 2006–07 “I” Person of the Year.

John FredenbergerLettering in basketball for four years, the late John Fredenberger ’42 was a member of the only undefeated basketball team in school history, in 1942. The team was ranked 9th nationally by the Dunkel Rating System. Fredenberger was an educator and basketball coach at Mississinewa High School for 14 years, compiling an outstanding 248-98 record. His teams won six county tournaments, two Mississinewa Valley Conference Championships, two sectional championships, and a regional championship. Fredenberger also served as Mississinewa High School athletic director, assistant principal, and principal before retiring in 1981.

Ben HarlanBen Harlan ’57 lettered four years in tennis, serving as captain and coach of the team all four years. He was undefeated in both singles and doubles during his time on the tennis team. In 1954, the team was conference champion and all the players were voted All-Conference. After Harlan’s time at UIndy, he continued playing tennis, winning numerous city and state tournaments in singles, men’s doubles, and coed doubles. In 1961, the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce honored Harlan with an award for his outstanding achievements in tennis. He also was inducted into Arsenal Technical High School’s Hall of Fame in 2005 for his high school tennis career. Harlan retired from Methodist Hospital as an accounting executive in 1996.

A football standout and four-year letterwinner, Carol Purichia ’61 was quarterback for the 1960 All Hoosier College Conference Championship Team. He was also a 1960 Little All-American Quarterback Candidate. At one point during his junior year, he led the nation in passing yardage per game. After college, Purichia continued his success as quarterback for the 1963 Indianapolis Warriors Professional Football Team and then began coaching. He began at Cathedral High School, coaching three undefeated wrestling teams, three undefeated reserve football teams, and one undefeated City Championship baseball team. He was 1968 Indiana Central Coach of the Year after leading Bishop Chatard to two Capital District Championships in 1965 and ’66, winning the Indianapolis City Championship in 1967 and winning again in ’68 with an undefeated team record of 10-0. At the collegiate level, Purichia coached at Indiana State University and Western Illinois University. Purichia is now director of client services at Bowers Envelope Company.

Dick SchrierDick Schrier ’56 was a four-year letterwinner in football and baseball. As starting quarterback, Schrier led the ’53, ’54, and ’55 team to three conference championships. He earned all-conference quarterback honors in all three years and in 1955 earned MVP honors for football. Schrier has held a number of football records including 9th in all-time pass completions, 7th in passing yards, and 4th in touchdowns. Schrier earned all-conference honors in baseball from 1953 to ’56 and served as the team’s co-captain in ’56. He also helped the baseball team earn three conference titles during his time at UIndy. Schrier pursued a long and successful career as a teacher and coach at several Indiana high schools. A memorial scholarship was created in his honor: the Richard E. Schrier Student-Athlete Endowed Scholarship is awarded annually to graduating student-athletes planning to pursue graduate education.

The 1960 Men’s Golf Team is considered an outstanding golf team at UIndy. The team won eight contests and tied once, never losing against an opponent. The team won first place in the conference tournament and came in 7th at Little State. The golfers ended their successful season with a 4th-place finish in the NAIA tournament.


Coach Paul Velez brought his career to an end with one of his youngest and best teams, the 1970 Wrestling Team, which flew through a 14-3 record, scoring a total of 430 points to their opponents’ 232 points. After the first night of action at the HCC Tournament, the Hounds were down 20 points from leader Taylor University; the next day the tables turned and the spirited Greyhounds came back to win over Taylor 77-71 for their 5th of 6 conference championships.

Ron Strain ’57 is the Greyhound Club’s 2009–10 ‘I’ Person of the Year. Strain graduated with a business administration degree. A tennis letterwinner and teammate of 2010 Hall of Fame inductee Ben Harlan (opposite), Strain has earned such recognitions as the Ron and Laura Strain Education Center at the Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center and the Philip Morris Silver Ring Merit Award. He has served on many corporate boards. Strain retired in 1993 from the Miller Brewing Company as vice president of finance and treasurer.

—Mitch Wigness

the authorMarty